Homemade stripey giftwrap

Red Stripey gift wrap

You will need:

  • paper large enough to wrap your present in…I used Canson Mi-Tientes in bright red.
  • masking tape…I used 1-inch wide masking tape.
  • Metallic acrylic paints…I used Lumiere® by Jacquard, Folk Art® by Plaid, and Atelier® Interactive™ metallic acrylic paints
  • pencil and cartridge paper
  • Removable adhesive
  • x-acto knife or other sharp scalpel.
  • black card..I used black Optix in cover weight…and a contrasting color of card for the center of the medallion…I used Japanese paper in gold momigami
  • glue or paste

DSCF0619

Start with the masking tape…easier done when the paper is lying flat, obviously, but I didn’t know what I was going to do until I’d wrapped the parcel, so I did my masking around the object…

DSCF0620

Painted the paper with metallic paints. I used gold, pink, copper and pearl metallic paints…brushed on, no thinning with water, but spreading the paint thinly. Let dry.
DSCF0621

Carefully remove the masking tape. Again, up to this point I could have done everything on a flat piece of paper, and it would have made my life easier. I worked slowly, removing the tape, trying not to tear the paper. I still managed to get a little tear right on the front of the parcel. Doh!

DSCF0624

On a piece of plain paper, draw the main medallion and the ribbons. Split the elements up into distinct shapes that can be cut from black paper later. Leave little gaps between the elements, to accentuate the fact that the design is made from cut paper.
DSCF0625
I used removable (also known as re-positionable) adhesive to stick the drawing down to black card, and an X-acto knife to cut the shapes out. When all the pieces are cut out, you can peel the white drawing paper away cleanly from the black card.

red parcel

To raise the medallion away from the surface of the paper I stuck a circle of foam core—cut smaller than the medallion—to the back of the medallion. I cut a second, smaller medallion out of Japanese gold momigami paper, and centered that on top of the black medallion. When I had positioned and glued the medallion down to the present, I arranged the ribbon pieces around it, and glued those down directly to the red giftwrap paper.

Just something quick that you can do when you’re in a pinch and need to wrap up a present, so that it still looks nice.

About smallestforest

bookbinder, crafter, lit. major, passionately curious
This entry was posted in cutting & pasting, paper and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment